Are you ready to get your SWITCH on?

Darlings, how does swinging kettle bells, running with ropes and jumping on boxes sound? Like lots of fun, right? Well, over the weekend I found a playground that offers just this. It’s called SWITCH – The Playground in Bree Street!

SWITCH is powered by Steve Uria, a conceptual athlete who’s been in the fitness industry for decades. He’s trained a number of celebrity clients including Jamal Lewis, Oscar de la Hoya and Charles Barkley to name just a few. Interestingly enough, Steve is also the mastermind behind some of the most popular local fitness programmes, including Bootcamp and SWEAT 1000.

logo2

Steve’s trendy new gym offers a unique new fitness programme that combines carefully selected cardiovascular training, functional training, boxing, plyometric training, core stability and power-flow yoga. It’s quite a mouthful, I know – but trust me – this type of training is the way to live out the fastest fitness mantra, “strong is the new skinny”! I got to try it out for myself and now I’m totally hooked!

I arrived at the chic SWITCH studio and was blown away by how awesome the inside looks – it’s designed to look just like a playground! The cutting-edge gym equipment also caught my eye rather quickly. It all really had me feeling like a kid again! What I also loved was the dramatic lighting, the motivational quotes plastered all over the wall, and the in-house DJ who was spinning some seriously hot summer tracks, which all set the mood just perfectly.

My hour-long class at kicked off with power-flow yoga to “switch on” my body and get me ready for the high intensity programme. It ended with a rewarding stretch session that’s apparently designed to cool you off and help prevent injury. Each class is different to the next, but they all combine the same types of intense workouts.

The instructors at SWITCH (five of six are men) were very warm and welcoming. They’re all very informative and highly trained. There’s an instructor on the floor at all times to ensure your form and technique is on point throughout your class to achieve optimal results, which is great! And, I should probably also mention that the guys are topless while they train you (can you say gun show?!). It’s pretty intimidating at first, but you actually get into it rather quickly.

download (1)

All in all, I loved my session at SWITCH! Don’t get me wrong, it was one serious workout, but I felt fabulous afterwards. I can’t wait to go again! If you decide to go, tag a friend along. It’s an ideal workout to enjoy with your bestie, as you’re paired up at the beginning of the class.

Bonuses include a prime location, accessible parking, modern bathrooms and changing areas, and a fully-stocked café! There’s little time left to get in perfect shape for the long-awaited sunny season, so hurry along… Go and get your SWITCH on!

DETAILS:

Address: 186 Bree Street, Cape Town CBD, Cape Town

Phone number: 021 422 2515

Facebook page:  https://www.facebook.com/switchplayground

Website: http://www.switchplayground.com

Leave a comment